Dewey Paul Band

Colorado Americana Music

Colorado Americana music by Dewey Paul Moffitt. JJ Cale Tribute CD. Bohemian Ghosts memoir author. Several albums worth of originals plus covers that range from Bob Dylan, Van Morrison, and JJ Cale to Grateful Dead and beyond. True tales of a modern day psychedelic adventurer in the vein of Kerouac, Wolfe, Bukowski, and Robbins. A memoir that chronicles the authors many adventures in the psychedelic Grateful Dead and Jam Band scene (Allmans, Phish, Panic, Blues Traveler, Pfunk). From his parking lot days to working backstage, the book examines how that wild counter-culture world impacted his early adult years and allowed him to discover his passion for the concert industry. 

Bohemian Ghosts: A Memoir
By Dewey Paul Moffitt

You will not be able to put down.

    “Moffitt is a musician and a music lover who has had life experiences any rock and roll lover would envy. He is one part Kerouac, one part Merry Prankster, and one part Tom Wolfe... It is a spiritual, romantic, drug and rock and roll fueled story that you will not be able to put down. Believe me, once I started, I could not stop.”

— Michael Buffalo Smith, Kudzoo Magazine, June 2015
Not to be missed!

    “Dewey has written a book that touches on all the wild and heady times of following the Grateful Dead and beyond. Romance, music, and friends cavort throughout this beautiful and exhilarating tale. I loved it and I have read them all. Not to be missed!”

— Hamlin J. Endicott, Owner GRATEFUL DEAD BOOKS LLC
Couldn't put it down!

    “Amazing! Read it cover to cover in 12 hours!!!”

— Kendra Alicia Burnett, Amazon review
A must-have for the rock fan or Deadhead completist in your life!

    “What a wild ride! Follow the author from adolescent adventures smoking a joint in the parking lot with WASP to LSD-soaked cross-country rambles to follow the Dead. A romantic tale, both in terms of dating and because the author leads with his heart, adhering to a “follow your bliss” credo come hell or high water. And come they do! Misadventure as often as adventure, this epic coming-of-age story is sure to be a treat for any one who is a fan of rock n roll or free spirits.”

— Charles, Amazon review
SAVE UP TO 19% ON BOHEMIAN GHOSTS AT AMAZON.COM!
$16.16
A different spin on Jack Kerouac's "On the Road"

    “I am biased since I knew the author way back when, but I really enjoyed this collection of anecdotes that trace his life so far. It’s a different spin on Jack Kerouac’s “On the Road”. The reader gets an honest, inside look at some of the music world that we only get to see in movies. ”

— Harry C., Amazon review
ENTER A CONTEST TO WIN A FREE AUTOGRAPHED COPY OF BOHEMIAN GHOSTS AT GOOD READS!
Pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed reading this!

    “This was really fun to read! The trials and tribulations of life on the road are met with persistent optimism and a tireless search for bliss in the real world. What a wild ride! Entertaining, fast moving, well written, and not without imparting some wisdom! ”

— William, Amazon review

    “Love your Book...Read 1/2 of it in one sitting—Excellent Writing”

— David, Facebook review
The current jam-band fan will find something to love here…

    “If you ever hit the road yourself, or wanted to, this author shares all the nitty-gritty with the world. The Dead precipitated many a departure from home, and all went on a journey unlike any other. The seeker, the former tour-head, the current jam-band fan will all find something to love here, and perhaps, conjure up memories of one’s own, long-forgotten.”

— Denco, Amazon review
Along for a long strange trip!

    “A very enjoyable memoir- I was surprised at how engaged I became in the protagonists’ trials, tribulations and eventual redemption. A lot of brushes with fame without being gossipy or indiscreet. A good read that leaves you wanting to hear more stories from this author. Recommend to anyone who was part of that subculture in that era. It all rings true here.”

— Leanna Randall, Amazon review
Writing is compelling and it's a pretty quick read...

    “Full disclosure: I’ve known the author for quite some time. However, there is a huge amount about him which I didn’t know. It was fascinating to read about his adventures, and contemplate that we probably crossed paths long before we knew each other. The writing is compelling and it’s a pretty quick read. Glad to count Dewey as among my friends!

    Once again, I look forward to our yearly jam in Denver and Boulder for the Last Waltz Revisited. We’ll be rocking the Fillmore!”

— Thomas Johnson, Amazon review
Great read!

    “Great adventure through a world I know well. You really end up rooting for Dewey in the way he leads with his heart through the many varied exploits of his life. Well written.”

— Colorado Head, Amazon review
Fun and Entertaining

    “Entertaining read. I don’t read much but I found this book to be easy to read while being entertaining and fun. Going along with Dewey’s ups and downs in his life’s adventures made me feel like I was right there with him on the road.”

— David B. Sockrider, Amazon review


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Musician and promoter Dewey Paul Moffitt has penned a rollicking memoir of a life spent following his heart into a wild world of sex, drugs, rock and roll, celebrity friendships, Rainbow Gatherings, biker gangs, hitchhiking, UFO sightings, and, finally, true love. Fueled by not much more than luck, fate, and karma, at 18, Moffitt left his record store job in Boca Raton and, through a serendipitous path of self discovery and lite mayhem, soon found himself working for rock impresario Bill Graham, the legendary promoter behind the Grateful Dead scene—living the high life alongside rock’s elite one day and narrowly escaping disaster in crime-worn East Oakland the next. Through it all, Moffitt yearned to find the right woman who would ease his lonely journey as he worked day and night to learn the music business from the ground floor up. Rising through the ranks of major concert production, Moffitt has worked with a long and impressive list of employers and partners as a festival and concert promoter, audio engineer, and talent buyer.

Today, Moffitt is enjoying the fruits of 25 years dedicated to music—fronting the Dewey Paul Band and creating and promoting concert events in Colorado, where his heart finally found a home and a happy family life in the heart of the Rocky Mountains.